PAX Flow vs PAX 4: Which Model Fits You?
Short answer: PAX Four and PAX Flow are portable hybrid vaporizers for dry herbs, but they differ considerably in everyday use. The Four offers four modes, the classic bottom-loaded PAX oven and, according to the manufacturer, up to five sessions or 50 minutes of battery life. The Flow offers five modes, a removable side oven door, a widened airpath and a USB-C charging time of under 40 minutes. Choose the Four if the published battery-life figure and bottom-loaded oven suit you; choose the Flow if the more open airpath, side-access oven and faster published charging time matter more.
Buying options for the United States
Offers below use verified USD pricing or a US retailer with known delivery. State and local sales tax may be added at checkout.
PAX Four
TVape US
$215.69
Estimated delivered total; state and local sales tax may be added at checkout.
Price checked .
PAX Flow
TVape US
$275.89
Estimated delivered total; state and local sales tax may be added at checkout.
Price checked .
Prices come from automated retailer checks and may change. Some retailer links are affiliate links. Return periods and warranty coverage depend on the retailer, destination and manufacturer; verify them before ordering.
Buying options for the United Kingdom
Offers below use GBP pricing or a UK retailer. VAT, shipping and known import status are included when available; unknown costs are marked.
PAX Four
No qualifying local partner offer is currently verified. Check delivery, taxes or import costs, returns and warranty terms directly with the retailer before ordering.
PAX Flow
No qualifying local partner offer is currently verified. Check delivery, taxes or import costs, returns and warranty terms directly with the retailer before ordering.
Prices come from automated retailer checks and may change. Some retailer links are affiliate links. Return periods and warranty coverage depend on the retailer, destination and manufacturer; verify them before ordering.
PAX Four and PAX Flow compared directly
| Feature | PAX Four | PAX Flow |
|---|---|---|
| Heating principle | Hybrid | Hybrid |
| Material | Dry herbs | Dry herbs |
| Modes | 4 preset programmes | 5 preset programmes |
| Heat-up time | Approximately 55–70 seconds according to the Quick Start Guide | Not specified by PAX on the product page reviewed |
| Oven access | From below | From the side, door fully removable |
| Airpath | Classic PAX layout | Widened airpath |
| Manufacturer’s battery-life claim | Up to 5 sessions or 50 minutes | No battery-life figure on the product page reviewed |
| Charging | USB-C; no charging time on the product page reviewed | USB-C; under 40 minutes |
| App | No app control intended | No app control intended |
| Warranty | 2 years, plus 1 year upon registration | 2 years, plus 2 years upon registration |
| Current price | 159.00 € incl. shipping | 199.00 € incl. shipping |
The table uses only information from the PAX sources linked below. PAX does not publish fixed Celsius values for the modes or complete battery specifications there; such figures have therefore deliberately been omitted from the comparison.
PAX Four or PAX 4: Which name is correct?
PAX writes the product name as “PAX FOUR”. “PAX 4” is the common shortened form used in shops and search queries. Both names refer to the same device. The Flow is not a successor with a higher model number, but a differently configured sister model: both use a hybrid heating principle, but place different emphasis on oven access, airpath, number of modes, charging and warranty.
Heating system and modes
PAX classifies both models as hybrid devices: the herb chamber is heated while the airflow assists extraction as you draw. For the purchasing decision, the configuration of the programmes and airflow matters more than their shared “hybrid” label.
The PAX Four has four modes. The official Quick Start Guide explains them in qualitative terms: purple is designed to produce as little visible vapor as possible, green for a longer and more economical session, yellow for balanced flavour and orange for maximum performance and denser vapor. PAX does not state fixed Celsius values there. The PAX Flow has five modes. These programmes should likewise be understood as presets rather than a freely adjustable thermostat offering single-degree precision.
PAX advertises the Four as producing around 50 % more vapor than previous PAX devices and explicitly includes the Flow in the comparison on the product page. This is a manufacturer’s claim, not an independent laboratory measurement. It does, however, clearly show how PAX positions the devices: the Four is intended to be the performance-oriented choice, while the Flow differentiates itself more through its airpath, draw and suitability for quick everyday use.
Oven, airpath and filling
The PAX Four’s oven is located at the bottom. For the first session, PAX recommends a medium-fine grind and a moderately dense fill: neither packed down hard nor leaving large gaps. Once the oven has been closed, the button is held for approximately two seconds. Pink LEDs indicate heating, while green LEDs indicate that the device is ready for use. The Quick Start Guide gives a heat-up time of approximately 55 to 70 seconds.
The PAX Flow is loaded from the side. Its oven door is fully removable, and PAX highlights its widened airpath. From an editorial perspective, this suggests a practical advantage: the Flow’s chamber and opening are more directly accessible, particularly when emptying and cleaning it. However, the extent to which draw resistance differs subjectively also depends on the amount filled, grind and maintenance condition; we therefore do not derive a universal hands-on rating from this.
Battery life and charging
For the Four, PAX states up to five sessions or up to 50 minutes of use per charge. “Up to” is important: the mode, session duration, drawing behaviour and surroundings affect the result. PAX does not publish a specific charging time or battery capacity on the Four product page we reviewed, so we refrain from giving seemingly precise mAh or minute figures.
The Flow focuses on a different advantage: PAX states a USB-C charging time of under 40 minutes. A directly comparable official battery-life figure is absent from the Flow page reviewed. Anyone wishing to charge as infrequently as possible therefore receives a clearer manufacturer’s assurance with the Four. Those who value short charging windows in everyday life will find the Flow offers the more explicit promise.
Operation and cleaning
Both devices are operated directly on the body. For the Four, PAX describes switching modes with a short press of the button while the device is switched on; the selection is confirmed after three seconds or by shaking the device. The battery level can likewise be read from the LEDs after shaking it. An app is not part of the operating concept for either the Four or the Flow.
For the Four, the manufacturer recommends waiting at least ten minutes after a session before touching or emptying the oven or material. It should be cleaned approximately every three to five sessions. The Flow’s removable side access should make it mechanically easier to reach; regardless of the model, always allow it to cool completely and clean it only in accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions.
Price and warranty
Fixed vaporizer prices quickly become outdated. The shortcodes therefore retrieve the current comparison: PAX Four from 159.00 € incl. shipping at 153 shops, PAX Flow from 199.00 € incl. shipping at 168 shops. The complete offers are available on the PAX Four and PAX Flow product pages.
The standard warranty is two years for both devices. When registered within 30 days, PAX extends the Four’s warranty by a further year and the Flow’s by a further two years. Anyone intending to use the devices for a long time should therefore register them immediately after purchase and retain proof of purchase.
Which PAX suits whom?
Choose the PAX Four if you prioritise the clearer manufacturer’s battery-life claim, four profiles and the familiar bottom-loaded PAX layout. Its published endurance figure makes the purchasing trade-off easier to quantify.
Choose the PAX Flow if a side-access oven, the widened airpath, a fifth programme and the officially stated charging time of under 40 minutes matter more. These are documented design differences; personal draw and handling preferences still need to be judged individually.
Neither option is universally superior. The Four is geared towards endurance and the performance headroom promoted by PAX; the Flow towards airflow, oven access and fast recharging. You should compare prices last, because they change and a good market price can shift the balance.
Official sources
Frequently asked questions
PAX Four or PAX Flow: Which is better?
The Four has the clearer published battery-life figure and PAX positions it around higher output. The Flow documents side oven access, a widened airpath and charging in under 40 minutes. Which is better therefore depends on the design trade-off, not a universal winner.
Is PAX Four the same as PAX 4?
Yes. “PAX FOUR” is the official spelling; “PAX 4” is the widely used shortened form for the same device.
How many modes do the PAX Four and PAX Flow have?
The PAX Four has four modes, while the PAX Flow has five. PAX describes them as preset programmes; the manufacturer does not state fixed Celsius values in the sources used here.
How long do the batteries last and take to charge?
PAX states up to five sessions or 50 minutes of use for the Four. For the Flow, PAX states a charging time of under 40 minutes. PAX does not publish directly comparable figures for both devices on the product pages reviewed.
Do the PAX Four or PAX Flow require an app?
No. Both devices are operated directly on the body; app control is not part of the operating concept for either the Four or the Flow.
Last updated: August 2026. Prices change continuously; the price fields are loaded live from the VapoChecker comparison.